Travel Fellowships

All authors presenting a poster or a oral talk, are eligible to apply for a travel fellowship award. The number of awards and amount of support varies each year. Please keep an eye on the website for announcements. Alternatively you can contact us on

You can find a list of winners of travel fellowships in previous symposiums:

Winners 2014

Swiss Institute of Bioinformatics fellowships

  • Sarah Keasey United States Army Medical Research Institute of Infectious Diseases, United States
  • Vikas Pejaver, Indiana University, United States

Winners 2013

Genome Canada fellowships

  • Marcin Mizianty (University of Alberta, Canada)
  • Amit Deshwar (University of Toronto, Canada)

Swiss Institute of Bioinformatics fellowships

  • Farzana Rahman (University of South Wales, UK)
  • Mrinal Mishra (University of Turku, Finland)

National Science Foundation fellowships

  • Nicholas Giangreco (University of Rochester, USA)
  • Dan DeBlasio (University of Arizona, USA)
  • Deborah Chasman (University of Wisconsin-Madison, USA)
  • David Kuo (Memorial Sloan‐Kettering Cancer Center, USA)

Winners 2012

  • Huy Q. Dinh, Center for Integrative Bioinformatics, Vienna, Austria (winner of the SIB Travel Fellowship For the Most Promising Abstract)
  • Geoffroy Andrieux, IRSET, Rennes, France
  • Malay Bhattacharyya, Indian Statistical Institute, Kolkata India
  • Mohsen Hajiloo, University of Alberta, Canada
  • Christoph Peters, Stockholm Universitet, Stockholm, Sweden
  • Liutauras Rusaitis, University of Oxford, Oxford, UK
  • Tomasz Stokowy, Silesian University of Technology, Gliwice, Poland

Winners 2011

  • R. Taylor Raborn, University of Iowa, USA
  • Benjamin Kwan, University of Ottawa, Canada
  • Amit Deshwar, Edward S. Rogers Sr. Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering, University of Toronto, Toronto, Canada
  • Maina Bitar, Department for Bioinformatics and Computational Biology - Fakultät für Informatik, Technische Universität München
  • Farzana Rahman, Computational Biology Group, Applied Mathematics and Statistics Research Unit, University of Glamorgan, Pontypridd, Wales, UK
  • Benjamin Woodcroft, Department of Biochemistry & Molecular Biology, Bio21 Molecular Science and Biotechnology Institute, University of Melbourne, Australia
  • Salvador Capella-Gutierrez, Bioinformatics and Genomics Programme, Centre for Genomic Regulation (CRG), UPF, Barcelona (Spain).
  • Emre Guney, Pompeu Fabra University, Barcelona, Spain
  • Sonja Althammer, Universitat Pompeu Fabra, Barcelona, Spain
  • Darius Kazlauskas, Institute of Biotechnology, Vilnius University, Graiciuno 8, LT-02241 Vilnius, Lithuania
  • Emanuel Weitschek, Department of Informatics and Automation, Università degli Studi Roma Tre, Via della Vasca Navale 79, 00146 Rome, Italy
  • Mohd Rehan, School of Computational and Integrative Sciences, Jawaharlal Nehru University, New Delhi-110067, India

Winners 2010

The four excellent students from a developing nation that receive a full travel fellowship sponsored by the Wellcome Trust are:

  • Santiago J. Carmona, Institute for Biotechnological Research, University of San Martín - Buenos Aires, Argentina
  • Priscila Grynberg, Federal University of Minas Gerais – Institute of Biological Sciences, Department of Biochemistry and Immunology – Belo Horizonte, Brazil
  • Chinmay Kumar Dwibedi, VIT University
  • María Paula Magariños, Biotechnology Research Institute, University of San Martín

Furthermore, we were able to award 14 partial travel fellowships to the following students:

  • Aurelien Rizk, INRIA Paris Rocquencourt
  • Zofia Piłat, University of Warsaw
  • Judith M. Fonville, Imperial College London
  • Lorena Pantano, CRG
  • Eneritz Agirre, Universitat Pompeu Fabra
  • Guilhem Chalancon, University of Cambridge
  • Christoph Lippert, Max Planck Institute Tübingen
  • Andre Kahles, Friedrich Miescher Laboratory of the Max Planck Society
  • Hannes Hettling, VU University Amsterdam
  • Fadi Towfic,Iowa State University
  • Geoff Macintyre, University of Melbourne
  • Nino Shervashidze, Max Planck Institute for Developmental Biology
  • Meromit Singer, UC Berkeley
  • Chia‐Lang Hsu, National Yang‐Ming University

Winners 2009

In 2009 we received over 50 excellent applications, and it was not an easy task to select the best nine. Congratulations to the winners of the 2009 ISCB Student Council Travel fellowships:

  • Nicolas Palopoli, Quilmes National University
  • Christian Solis Solero, Universidad Nacional
  • Sebastian J. Schultheiss, Friedrich Miescher Laboratory
  • Walter Pirovano, VU University Amsterdam
  • Samira Jaeger, Humboldt Universitat
  • David Thybert, University of Rennes
  • Yoon-Dong Yu, University of Oxford
  • Geoff Macintyre, University of Melbourne
  • Phil Hyoun Lee, Queen’s University